Let’s get this party started

It’s that time of year again, ladies and gents. Over the next 45 days, I will bring to you my silly adventures in Las Vegas. As most of you already know, I will be playing a full tournament schedule (around 20-25 high buy-in events). It should be a wild ride – I can’t wait to begin.

After having spent the morning scrambling to pack up my room in Chicago yesterday, I landed in sunny (read:chokingly hot) Vegas around 5PM. After renting a car, I made my way to our new home, a 7/8 bedroom behemoth 10-15 minutes away from the strip. The house is way different than last year; it’s a beautiful residence, but the designing leaves something to be desired – think older person furniture in the bedrooms (lots of fake plants and wooden armoires). The backyard is sweet, though, with an awesome pool, jacuzzi and outdoor bbq. I will try to get some pics up within a few days.

Three other guys got in yesterday – we are still waiting on three more to make a total of seven grown men living in one house. This year, we have hired a chef to cook meals so that we no longer succumb to the Las Vegas fast food scene. Additionally, we will have maid service five days a week to clean up after the inevitable mess.

My horse managed to ship a tournament last night for 15k which ended a long drought of makeup. I’m excited for him because he is playing great, feeling confident and starting to just crush. This should improve the odds of a profitable summer for me. Very exciting stuff on that front.

Today is my first WSOP event of the summer – a $1500 NL event. Now that I am staked, I feel less pressure because I don’t have to shell out at least 10k a week in buy-ins. Instead, I can focus solely on my game in each event. And, if I brick an event, there will always be another one right around the corner.

In my next post, I plan to go over some of my goals for the summer. I think it’s important to write some of these down so that they become more tangible. Anyway, gotta go get ready. Adios all…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

